Nail art: Ophelia & purple flames

And again, it took me way too long to update… Sorry! I’m still very busy with school and work, and finding a balance between that and stuff I like (such as blogging) hasn’t yet fully worked. Anyhow, I do paint my nails every week now on the same day. So I should have a nail art article ready each week, and I’m also still working on videos ๐Ÿ™‚

A-England, Ophelia. Two layers, the purple glitters are way more obvious in direct sunlight!

I wanted something dark, so I decided on A-England’s Ophelia. One of my favorite polishes, it’s so easy to apply (not too thick or thin), and the purple glitters in it are simply beautiful! This article: https://fairytalenailart.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/notd-black-and-purple-sparkles/ contains some photos of this polish in direct sunlight, the sparkles are much easier to see that way ๐Ÿ™‚

One layer of Fantasy Fire by Max Factor on the ring fingers.

Purple ‘flames’ on the other nails.

For the flames, I used acrylic paint in purple and white. And I applied that using the ‘one stroke’ method. There are great tutorials of that on Youtube (try and search Tartofraises, she has amazing nail art videos). But because this was my first time trying, I kept it easy. Simply dipped one half of the brush in white, the other half in purple, and then painted thin bows on the tips of my nails.

On the accent nail (to make it fit in with the others better), I added some black stripes which you can barely see, and some white dots. Those were both done in acrylic paint as well, using a striper brush.

Slightly unfocused photo ๐Ÿ˜›

Close-up. As you can see, I still have to practice a lot on the one stroke technique ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, that’s the entire nail art design. If anyone has any advice on how to get better at the one-stroke technique (besides practicing, I know that’s an important one ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), I’d love to hear about it!

This entry was posted in Geen categorie, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nail art: Ophelia & purple flames

  1. Lacqueerisa says:

    Oh such gorgeous colours! Haha no wories about the irregularities, since I’m pretty irregular myself. ๐Ÿ˜› And still having tons of blog reading to catch up to. >_< Oh I think you've pretty much got the hang of this technique! I haven't try this one yet. So yeah no advices. Maybe try experimenting with different colours instead of a colour and white. Complementary colours ought to reveal some pretty cool results. (pink and green/nude and blue/purple,blue,orange) hahaha basic colours eh. I think yellow, lime green and orange will be a nice combo for fall theme ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

