NOTD: Ombre blue

The weather has been rather dull and boring lately, so as a ‘counter-attack’ I did some really bright nails this time, in a blue ombre look ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually meant to do a nail art on it, but the colour itself looked so nice that I didn’t want to cover it with anything. So, this week’s post is a NOTD, instead of a full on nail art.

Bottle: China Glaze – Sexy in the city

It seemed like a good idea to use some colour that I don’t use often enough, such as two of the colours that came with China Glaze’s Galaxy nails set (which I reviewed a few weeks ago). Both of them are rather sheer, so that’s basically the reason for them to just stand around unused. Which is a pity, because China Glaze is one of my favorite brands. The brushes are easy to work with, the polishes have a good formula and are pretty strong.

Anyhow, I did want a non-see through base, and more importantly a really bright colour. So I started out with two layers of a nameless white polish by Max, and then added two layers of China Glaze’s Sexy in the city. That way, the colour ended up looking both bright and even.

Bottle: China Glaze – Reggae to riches

As soon as the blue colour had dried well enough, I took a sponge (also from China Glaze) and did an ombre look with Sexy and the city and Reggae to riches. Both colours next to each other on one side of the sponge, then dabbed it onto the nails. Which was also done in two layers, as Reggae to riches is also a sheer colour. It turned out looking like dark blue rather than purple, as you can see on the photos.

Well, the thumbnail makes it clear; I just don’t have the patience to allow so many layers of polish to dry properly ๐Ÿ˜› But it does look bright and fun, and that’s what I was aiming for ๐Ÿ˜‰

This entry was posted in Geen categorie, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NOTD: Ombre blue

  1. Leanna says:

    Love how bright this is! You’re right, it’s the perfect mani for a dreary day.

  2. Lacqueerisa says:

    I think this is beautiful! I’m feeling a lot like sporting simple colours or gradients lately, kinda like a cooling period? o.O Hahah!! What a great idea using the sheer colours as gradient instead ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m really loving the colour changes and effect these two polishes have together! โ™ฅ

Leave a Reply

