Nail art: Purple goth style nails

I had been sending out letters (in search of a job) all day, which isn’t something that’s beneficial to a good mood. So I thought; let’s do some dark gothic style nails! Black as a base colour and then add some purple stuff (as purple is my favorite colour).

By the time I was done, I was in a good mood again. But still, the dark nails were fun to wear ๐Ÿ™‚

China Glaze – Liquid Leather

After applying basecoat, I started out with two layers of China Glaze’s Liquid Leather. I always apply two layers, just because it creates a thicker layer of nail polish and therefore lasts longer, but Liquid Leather already looks very good in just one layer. Moreover, it dries to an amazingly glossy finish, as is visible on the photo above.

One thing; I don’t think the black text on a bottle with black nail polish was very strategic at all. Kinda hard to read ๐Ÿ˜›

Mixed acrylic paints

After that had dried, I grabbed a nail art brush (striper type, about a cm long), and painted on the cross and lines. I tried to use dark purple acrylic paint first, but it didn’t really show up (duh). So I mixed this colour from the purple and some white.

The above photo was taken after two layers, by the way. The contrast in real life was just as obvious as in the photo’s, so two layers were necessary to have it look smooth and even.

Gold and studs added

Then on to completing the drawings, with some gold polish (Go Bold, by Essence) and some tiny gold studs I bought off Ebay. The outline of the cross was done with the same nail art brush as the drawings, but the dots on the lines were made with a dotting tool.

I really think the gold added something to the overall look, it made it look more complete and kinda classy ๐Ÿ˜‰

This entry was posted in Geen categorie, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nail art: Purple goth style nails

  1. Haha, love these!
    Did you find that job you were looking for btw?

Leave a Reply

