Nail art: Don’t fear the reaper

For years I’ve loved reapers. Images of reapers are always awesome in my opinion, I almost always wear my favourite necklace with a reaper hanging from it (usually underneath my shirt, as he basically never fits with the rest of my outfit πŸ˜› ) and I also love the song ‘Don’t Fear the Reaper’ by Blue Oyster Cult (which can be found on Youtube here).

Then why had I never made a reaper nail art before? Well, simply because I didn’t want to ruin it πŸ˜‰ But I’ve been practising a lot lately, and I finally dared to try it. This post shows the result of that!

Bottle: Essie – For the twill of it

Seeing as I prefer painting with acrylic paint, which has a simple paint finish of course, I thought it’d give a nice contrast to use a shimmery nail polish as a background. I immediately thought of this special multichrome polish. It was from the autumn collection by Essie (last year, so I don’t think it’s still being sold, unfortunately). So far, it’s my first and only Essie polish. Due to the price, not because of any problems with the nail polish! The brushes have a very nice shape and give good control, and the polishes itself have a great formula that immediately stays in place.

This specific nail polish is named ‘For the Twill of it’, and depending on the light it can either be blueish, green or greyish purple. A very nice combination, especially for this theme, but the polish has something very special which makes it completely perfect in my opinion. Somehow, they’ve managed to make it almost hazy, as if there’s a light fog over it. Very suitable for an autumn collection nail polish, of course, but also very suitable for a reaper nail art!

So far, this is the only nail polish I’ve ever seen that has that effect. Unfortunately I’ve yet to find another nail polish that would even be comparable. Even without nail art on it, I think this nail polish is absolutely beautiful.

Bottle: Essence – Gel look topcoat

As soon as the base colour had dried, I went ahead with the acrylic paint. Black and white are the only two colours needed for this nail art. That, and a short and very thin nail art brush, to have as much control as possible. First, I painted the outlines in white and then sloppily filled them in. After that, I used the black paint to fill them in again, in the same sloppy manner. And it’s supposed to be done sloppily, because that’s how the effect gets created. Not neat and perfect, but sketchy and loose. It suits the theme better, and moreover I just really like how it looks.

Well, I’ve kept the most important photo’s for last; the ones featering the reaper himself! His skeleton face turned out a lot better than I had expected, especially his grin. It’s easiest to start on the hood, then move on to the shoulders, then finally creating the shape of his face. Don’t be too neat, the overall effect looks best when it’s somewhat nonchalant.

Personally, I think this nail art turned out way better than I had expected, and I was kinda sad when it was time to remove this mani a few days later πŸ˜›

This entry was posted in Geen categorie, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nail art: Don’t fear the reaper

  1. facebook says:

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday.

    It’s always helpful to read through content from other authors and practice something from other websites.

  2. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.

    I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

