Nail art: Black ice magic

Seeing as the nice weather is gone (for now at least, and maybe by the time I’ll post this it’ll be nice weather again and that remark will make no sense then ๐Ÿ˜› ), I felt it was time for a black nail art again. As usual, I had absolutely no idea what I was going to do, so in the end I went for ice and magic (because that’s a logical go-to theme ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). Moreover, you can’t go wrong with contrasting colours, right?

Bottle: China Glaze – Liquid Leather

Dark polishes are always difficult to get to look neat along the cuticle (at least more so than pale polishes that make mistakes less noticeable). And I do notice when using China Glaze polishes, that I’m not very good with narrow brushes. But luckily, Liquid Leather’s formula is great, it stays in place without flowing towards the cuticle by itself. I used two layers, and did a clean up after each one. I always use remover and a small nail art brush for that. And that way, the cuticles do end up looking neat enough, which I do find important with such a dark mani.

Bottle: China Glaze – Glistening Snow

For the stripes, I used a striper brush (from the same set of nail art brushes as the one I use for cleanup, which was bought via Ebay). The choice of which ice blue colour to use was very easy; LuminICEnt by Color Club. An icy nail polish with a gorgeous foil finish. It almost looks like real ice, with that glittery shininess. Another thing I love about it, is that one stripe of it is enough to cover completely, even over a pure black base! No extra effort needed by using a white polish first, which saves a lot of time and risk of errors ๐Ÿ˜‰

Then I decided I wanted some glitter, for a more ‘magical’ effect. Magic equals glitter, after all ๐Ÿ˜› At least, that’s the easiest way to hint at it in a nail art. The choice of which polish to use for that went between Glistening Snow and Fairy Dust, both by China Glaze. As you can see above, the final choice fell on Glistening Snow. It covers better, whereas Fairy Dust gives more of a spread glitter effect. Both are silver glitters with a holographic effect, and I love both of them. But for this nail art I felt a more covering effect would work better, as it did have to stand out next to LuminICEnt.

And finally, to give it more of a ‘black magic’ vibe, I added a purple rhinestone to each nail. Well, also because I recently got a belly button piercing (yay!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ) which has a purple gem in the jewel. And I thought it’d be fun to match it with that. Though I shouldn’t keep them next to each other, as the comparison doesn’t work out all that well for the rhinestones ๐Ÿ˜› But on the nails they do look nice and shiny, and I like the extra colour it adds next to the silver and blue.

This entry was posted in Geen categorie, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nail art: Black ice magic

  1. Julie L says:

    This is soooo pretty! I super love the color combos and design. I like the idea that you have put a violet stud. Great choice indeed!

Leave a Reply

