NOTD: Sunshine (tape nails)

A while ago, a drugstore here in the Netherlands (called Kruidvat) had a lot of Sinful Colors nail polishes for sale. I only knew this brand from (mostly American) nail polish and beauty bloggers, so I was really curious. The fact that they sold them for only €1,99 also helped πŸ˜‰

In any case, a lot of the colours were already sold out, but there were still a lot of pretty ones left. A lot of glitter, which I don’t allow myself to buy anymore, as I barely ever use it. But also crΓ¨me finishes and shimmery ones. Enough choice to make choosing a difficult task!

I only wanted to try out one. So I ended up buying 3 polishes πŸ˜› They’ve already been shown on this blog in a shoplog. There’s a bright pink one, a shimmery yellow one, and a matte blue one. Those last 2 seemed perfect for a summery NOTD, inspired by the blue sky and the sun!

Wow. That was my first thought when using these polishes. The blue one (named Savage) covers completely in not 2, not 3, but only 1 single layer! I used 2, because I wanted it to be strong but couldn’t use a top coat (I’ve ran out of matte top coat, and using a regular one would ruin the matte effect). But really, you could easily wear this in one single layer. The colour is also gorgeous, a deep blue colour that has a turquoise hint to it. Due to the matte finish, the colour seems even more intense. Beautiful!

The yellow colour, which has the name ‘Let’s Meet’, is a sheer shimmery polish. A typical summer colour, which makes me think of things like lemonade and ice lollies. The shimmers are in a lovely warm shade of yellow, which strengthens the summery feel to it. If you want this to cover completely, I’d recommend applying it over another (yellow or white) nail polish.

Both nail polishes apply like a dream, so easy! The brush fans out easily in a nicely rounden shape, and applies an even layer of nail polish. The polish itself is thin enough to end up nice and smooth, but thick enough not to flood to the cuticles. For the above photos, I did not do a clean up simply because it wasn’t even needed πŸ™‚

On the thumb and ring finger (the two nails that had the yellow polish on them) I put some tape. French tip guide tape on top, and then striping tape towards the bottom. The sun and her sunbeams, but heavily simplified πŸ˜‰ Well, tape nails still aren’t a talent of mine. I probably should have waited longer for the nail polish to dry, before pulling off the tape. The lines would’ve been more neat then. At least I learned that for a next time πŸ˜›

The overall effect did turn out as I had meant it to; a blue sky with a sun and sun beams. And the contrast between the matte blue and the shimmery yellow is what I love about these two nail polishes together! There’s room for improvement, but I still liked wearing this manicure on my nails πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Geen categorie, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NOTD: Sunshine (tape nails)

  1. lookbeyondbeauty says:

    Looks nice! πŸ™‚
    I would love it if you would check out my blog & follow if you like it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

