Review/NOTD: Born Pretty Store dolphins water decals!

I did this NOTD when it was so warm outside (and inside the house too) that my nail polish would barely dry. Which makes a perfect opportunity to do a summer NOTD with a refreshing theme! I got these awesome water decals from Born Pretty Store that have waves and dolphins on them. Great for summer! They have lots of fun stuff, I especially love how their nail art products look.

Pretty water decals deserve a pretty background, of course, so I decided to do sort of a sundown-ombre. The water decals would be just as pretty on a single coloured nail, though. They make any manicure look fun and happy!

I started out with East Village by NYC. As I said before, it was so warm that day that my nail polish would barely dry. In such cases, it can help to put the bottles you want to use in the freezer for a little while. They’ll be workable again once they’ve cooled down.

East Village really has the perfect colour to look like water. Blue/green, shimmery and rather sheer. I applied two layers. Sadly, I do notice that the bottle is getting old (over 1,5 years already), and it doesn’t dry as smooth as it used to. It stays kinda uneven now, which actually does fit the water theme. The colour is still as gorgeous as it ever was!

To get a little bit of structure, I purposely used very little nail polish on the sponge. The idea is to see a bit of the sun reflected in the water. The result actually reminded me more of ice lollies, but both are good for summer anyway πŸ˜‰ The nail polishes I used are Essence’s Flashy Pumpkin en NYC’s Lexington Yellow.

 

Okay, so the first attempt was a fail (the dolphin ended up upside down, showing the white side instead of the image), simply because I’m me πŸ˜› Then I realized the dolphin should be taken off the paper before being applied to the nail. And done the proper way, it works perfectly. Just follow the steps on the back of the package.

As soon as the image is on the nail, you have a little bit of time to position it. Then just carefully press it with a paper towel, and it’ll be stuck on the nail. Add a layer of topcoat, and it’s done!

On my ring finger nail I have a pink dolphin who’s jumping out of the water, on my thumb nail I put a wave and a blue dolphin who’s doing a backflip πŸ™‚

De water decals zijn makkelijk in gebruik (zelfs ik kan ermee werken πŸ˜‰ ) en verassend sterk! Ik had een dun en fragiel plaatje verwacht, zoiets als een plaktattoo, maar de water decals zijn veel sterker! Door de ombre achtergrond kun je goed zien dat ze ook niet doorzichtig zijn, de kleuren zijn mooi helder. En wauw, wat zijn de dolfijntjes mooi! Wil je gemakkelijk een prachtige afbeelding op je nagels? Dan raadt ik je absoluut de water decals van Born Pretty Store aan!

If you want a pretty image on your nails quickly and easily, I definitely recommend using the water decals from Born Pretty Store! You can find the dolphins here πŸ™‚

Born Pretty Store also gave me a discount code to share with you πŸ™‚ By using the code FT10K31 you get 10% off your order!

This entry was posted in Geen categorie, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

