Nail art: Bacardi revisited

It’s probably not difficult to guess what this nail art was inspired by: the Bacardi bat! The logo of Bacardi rum. I’d done a nail art of that before (here), but that’s over a year ago already. Back then, I never quite managed to make thin lines (by now, I’ve simply trimmed my nail art brushes to make them thinner). Moreover, I didn’t yet use acrylic paint back then, which is way easier to work with (in my opinion). In short, it was time for a new version!

And yes, I was reminded of that nail art by the fact that I really enjoy Bacardi’s mixed drinks in summer. Oakheart, Razz and the ones with ginger beer and dragonberry… Also, the one with cola and lemon. Honestly, the mixed drinks by Bacardi are the only drinks with alcohol that I actually like. I don’t like the taste of wine or beer or anything else. Only the mixed drinks with Bacardi rum. Ah well, there’s enough choice in those anyway πŸ˜‰

As a base, I wanted a dark colour, preferably something that would look a bit like cola. Then I realized I don’t have any nail polish that looks like that (which is a good excuse to buy more nail polish sometime soon πŸ˜‰ ), so I went for one that came close; Rimmel’s Torrid. According to some, it’s ugly. I think those people just didn’t look close enough to see its beauty πŸ˜› It’s a very deep purple-ish red colour with shimmers. Rather dark, but it really has a gorgeous shimmer in direct sunlight!

Torrid is one of Rimmel’s 60 Seconds nail polishes, with the wide brush that all their polishes have. Especially with such a dark colour, it’s important that the brush is good. Otherwise, a lot of clean-up might be needed to make it look neat. Luckily, the Rimmel brushes are good. The nail polish itself works well too, it stays in place and dries very quickly.

Shimmery colours have a tendency to be a bit streaky, but Torrid barely has that problem.

For the accent nail, I wanted a pale colour. Something that would remind of the paler coloured Bacardi mixed drinks. Of course, I also happen not to have anything like that (see? I really need to buy more nail polish πŸ˜› ), so again I went for the next best thing. The choice fell upon Let’s meet by Sinful Colors, which is a shimmery yellow nail polish with a sort of jelly finish. It’s not sheer, but it doesn’t cover completely either. In any case, it’s a great colour to imitate a drink with.

Sinful Colors has regular, kinda narrow brushes, but they do fan out very well. I didn’t have to do any clean-up at all on the yellow nail, although it does of course help that it’s a pale colour. The nail polish stays in place well and dries fast enough.

Believe it or not, the most annoying part of imitating the logo is the circle in the background. Somehow, it ended up looking kinda like an actual circle. The bat itself, though, is definitely the most difficult. Especially the ears and hind legs. Also, it’s important to put it in the exact place that it’s supposed to be inside the circle.

The only advice I can give you, is to make sure that your striper brush is thin enough. I used one with hairs that are about 2cm long and it’s about 0.5mm thick at the tip. With that, the bat is easier to be done.

As usual, I used acrylic paint to draw on the accent nail, simply because I find it easier to work with. I did use nail polish on the yellow parts at the end, Go Bold by Essence, because the actual logo has gold too. Seeing as nail polish can stay thicker than acrylic paint, it’s best to do that at the end.

The other nails also got some golden stripes, also using Go Bold by Essence. That nail polish is absolutely perfect for things like that, because it covers almost completely in one single layer. Finish it off with a layer of top coat, and the mani is done!

This entry was posted in Geen categorie, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nail art: Bacardi revisited

  1. Emma says:

    This is pretty! Love the colors that you have used and the nicely bat design. Great job!

Leave a Reply

